Important Dates

Tuesday 21 November 2023

Ettalong Memorial Win BPL Cup


The BPL Cup is headed back to NSW for the first time since 2018, with Ettalong crowned as 2023 champions.

The trio of Darren Morrison, Lee Threthowan & Nathan Malloy were too strong for their Victoria Park Carlisle (WA) opponents of Patrick Keeffe, Graeme Wishart & Lee Such in the final at Club Pine Rivers on Thursday.

Ettalong went into the final with a slight edge, having beating their opponents in sectional play earlier in the week while carrying an unbeaten record.

The Victoria Park Carlisle Reds made a strong start to the final, collecting the first three shots of the match before Ettalong found their feet.

The Eagles bounced back emphatically, collecting a three on their powerplay end to move clear, a lead that was good enough to see them take the first set 7-4.

They continued that form into the second set, leading 3-0 before the Reds cashed in on their powerplay to go ahead 4-3 after three ends.

A possible tiebreak loomed with the sides deadlocked at 5-5 going into the final end, but it was the Eagles who were able to take the shot, secure the win and take the title.

Lee Trethowan put in a memorable performance, recognised as the final MVP.

They become the third NSW team to win the BPL Cup, after Narrabri and Club Merrylands.

This year’s BPL Cup was the biggest in the event’s history, with more team entries and qualifying rounds played than ever before.

More than 950 teams participated across the country in 145 rounds.