Important Dates

Sunday 29 October 2017

Sherriff Captures His Second State Single’s Title

The old saying “Save the best to last” was certainly the case with the blue ribbon State Singles final between Ettalong’s Aron Sherriff and Engadine’s David Ferguson bringing the eight day Bowls NSW State Championships played at Ettalong Memorial BC to an exciting and successful conclusion.
David Ferguson the reigning Australian Indoor Singles Champion, held the advantage in the early stages, moving to a 10-5 lead before Aron Sherriff on the back of some great draw bowls and precision drives, won six ends in a row to lead 16-10. Ferguson was not about to lay down and displayed his fighting spirit and talent to recapture the lead. The lead changed again with exchanges of trebles, but then Sherriff won four consecutive ends to lead 26-20. Ferguson clawed his way back to trail 28-29 and it was game on.
The last couple of ends were tense with both players searching for a match winning conversion, but Sherriff’s patience and consistency was rewarded to capture the title 31-28. It was Sherriff’s second State Single’s title.
It was an outstanding final leaving an appreciative spectator crowd in awe of these players bowling skills and talent.
A special mention of appreciation to the Ettalong Memorial Board of Directors, the staff and club volunteers in hosting these championships for the fourth successive year in a most professional manner and to Andrew Lynn from Bowls NSW whose administration skills  daily wraps and  live results over the eight (8) days was second to none.
The newly crowned State Champions for 2017 are:-
State Singles: -   Aron Sherriff (Ettalong Zone 15)
State Pairs: -      Ashley Mitchell & Carl Healey (Cabramatta, Zone 12) 
                            Runners-Up Lee Trethowan & Aron Sherriff (Ettalong Zone 15)
State Triples       Crawford Linton, Matthew Blackburn & Steve Rawlings (Belrose, Zone 9)
State Fours : -     Keith Pickett, Peter Hattam, John Breust & Jay Breust (Narooma, Zone 7)
Senior Singles: - Ian Stone (Kempsey Macleay RSL, Zone 14)
Senior Pairs: -     Malcolm Drury & Errol Ruprecht (Taree West, Zone 11)
Presidents Reserve Singles: -  Lee Forster (Club Maitland City, Zone 6)
President Reserve Pairs: - Mark Spatford & Geoff Prisk (Nelson Bay, Zone 2)