Important Dates

Tuesday 28 November 2023

BCC Senior State Champion Representative Players Acknowledged

The Bowls Central Coast winning 2023 Senior Inter Zone Side was recognised at a lunch held in their honour at Ourimbah RSL Club.   The BCC Side won this event undefeated.

L to R Neil Williams, Garry Murphy, Dick Thornton, Paul Williams, Geoff  Watkins, Garry Frost, Graeme O'Donell, 
John Roberts (Captain-holding the trophy),Rick Orchard, Terry Hughes, Tony Shoebridge.  Missing - Colin Passfield.

The players were given representative shirts with "Senior Inter Zone Champions" and the years that they played in winning State Inter-Zone events embroidered on them (see below).   BCC has won this State Championship four times, more than any other Zone.   Dick Thornton is the only person who has played in all of them: 2007, 2008, 2018, 2023.  It should be mentioned that a number of players, including John Roberts, Col Passfield, Tony Shoebridge, Gary Murphy and Garry Frost won in 2018 and 2023, but were too young to play in 2007 and 2008.

Additionally, all players were given BCC caps with their BCC Senior Representative number embroidered on them.    

The opportunity was also taken to announce the Bowls Central Coast 2022/23 Representative Bowler of the Year.   The winner was Halekulani's Paul Williams a skip in the undefeated Senior Side and also in the BCC 2022/23 Open Side.