Important Dates

Sunday 21 March 2021

2020 Bowlers of the Year


With the 2020 State Finals completed on Friday (19/3/2021), Bowls Central Coast can now declare that the 2020 Bowlers of the Year are:

2020 Open Bowler of the Year (and recipient of the Wal Rainbow Shield) is Darren Morrison who represented Bateau Bay when winning the BCC 2020 Singles.  Darren achieved 185 points.  He also won the 2020 BCC Triples and made the semi-final of the Fours.  Runner Up to Darren was  Chayne Edwards on 160 points largely due to his win in the Champion of Club Champions Singles and also the Pairs (the first time this has ever been done).

2020 Senior Bowler of the Year is Phil Westcott of Ettalong Memorial due to his massive effort in the 2020 State Senior Singles Finals to finish Runner-Up.  Phil achieved 265 points mostly due to his Senior singles efforts but he was also a very unlucky runner up in the 2020 BCC Senior fours.   The runner-up Senior Bowler of the Year is Tony Shoebridge of Bateau Bay whose side won the BCC Senior fours also won the BCC Senior Pairs, was a semi-finalist in the BCC Senior Singles and also the State Fours.  Tony accumulated 235 Points.

The 2020 President's Reserve Bowler of the year is Michael Maycock of Breakers BC Wamberal   Michael won his points most because of being runner-up in the 2020 State President's Reserve Triples with Peter Gibbs and Graeme Styman.   Michael was also a BCC 2020 President's Fours Semi-finalist with Peter Gibbs.  Both Peter and Michael finished on 165 points.   The tie-breaker as published in circular 2020/01 had to be implemented.  The tie-breaker allocates additional points for Club Championships won in that year for the persons in the tie.   Michael had an outstanding year of Club Championships in 2020. He won the fours (with Peter), the Pairs (with Darren Hooper) and was runner-up in the triples.   Accordingly, the tie-breaker determined that Michael Maycock is the 2020 BCC President's Reserve Bowler of the Year, Congratulations Michael.

The Under 18 2020 Bowler of the Year has been already awarded to Bailey Meti.  In 2020 Baily won the singles, won the pairs and was runner-up in the fours amassing 225 points.  He was desperately unlucky that the 2020 State Finals of the Under 18 Championships were cancelled eliminating his chances of winning additional points in the State Finals.  

In 2020 a new approach has been taken with Bowler of the Year.  Previously the Open Bowler of the Year was the Bowler of the Year.  However from 2020, the Bowler of the Year is the Bowler of the Year who attains the most points and that Bowler is Phil Westcott.  Congratulations Phil.  He can add the title of BCC Bowler of the Year and BCC Senior Bowler of the Year to his Ettalong Memorial Bowler of the Year that he won for 2020.

Phil, Darren and Michael will be presented with their trophies, badges and prizemoney as soon as practicable.  Bailey has already received his trophy, badge and prizemoney.  BCC was going to wait for the 2021 Presentation Night to present the 2020 Bowlers of the Year, but it was decided that would be unfair as the 2020 Bowlers of the Year would never get a chance to proudly display the trophy in their Clubs.