Important Dates

Wednesday 18 March 2020

BCC Open Inter Zone Side Miss Out by 1/2 Point

The BCC Open Inter-Zone Side were most unlucky to miss out on qualifying for the quarterfinals by half a point.  They and two other sides won two games.  Zone 15 achieved  18 points, but Zone 9 (North Sydney) finished on 18 1/2 points and Zone 3 (North West NSW)  won the section on 19 points.   State Councillor and Chairman of Selectors David Cameron reports:
"We welcomed two(2) new players to Inter Zone play last week, Luke Rash [Davistown RSL] is Representative Cap # 99 and Josh Zephyr [Halekulani] is Representative Cap#100.
Played at the same venue [Olds Park] as the Seniors and against the same Zones 3,9 and 11 the anticipation of progressing beyond the sectional play was high. However a rejuvenated Zone 3 soon dispelled any thoughts of an easy win as they fought their way to a two(2) rinks to one (1) rink victory.
The afternoon game against Zone 9 was our “make or break” game and the team responded with a six(6) shot win albeit by virtue of a twelve (12) shot rink win by Jeff Watson, Luke Rash, James Cook and Darren Morrison. The other two (2) rinks both lost by three (3) shots each.
Going into the last game against Zone 11 we needed to win on all three (3) rinks to ensure a quarter-final berth as Zone 3 were on 17.5 points, Zone 9 were on 10 points and we [Zone 15] were on 9 points or we needed Zone 3 to beat Zone 9.
In our last sectional game play started in the rain and our players appeared to embrace the conditions getting off to a good start in all three(3) rinks, as the rain eased and the occasional glimpses of sun shone through the Zone 11 guys eased their way back into the game.
Pat Reynolds team and Lee Trethowan’s team finished with a win each and an eighteen (18) shot margin at this point Darren Morrison’s team had a couple of ends to go and a four(4) shot deficit. They gave themselves a chance of win by first killing the end when it was obvious they could not achieve a score of three (3) – five (5) shots. The next end they set up a scenario where a trail would result in a score of six(6) plus shots, however it was not to be and we finished the section a close third. Zone 3 won with 19 point, Zone 9 was second on 18.5 points and Zone 15 on 18 points."
2020 BCC Open Inter Zone Side (L to R): Dick Thornton The Entrance (Manager), James Cook Halekulani, Darren Morrison Terrigal, Josh Zephyr Halekulani, Nathan Malloy Ettalong Memorial, Pat Reynolds Halekulani, Lee Trethowan Ettalong Memorial, Chayne Edwards Terrigal, Jeff Watson Terrigal, Luke Rash Davistown RSL.  Seated  David Cameron Chairman of Selectors/Coach, Paul Williams Halekulani, Mitch McDonnell Halekulani, Shane Gibbin Halekulani.