Important Dates

Sunday 29 July 2018

Terrigal Captures Their First Ever No1 Pennant in a Cliff-Hanger of a Final

The three victorious Terrigal No1 Skips (L/R) Darren Morrison, James Cook, Tony Shoebridge
Terrigal captured its first ever No 1 Pennant in a cliff-hanger final defeating the highly fancied Ettalong Memorial side 54-53 played in front of a highly vocal crowd at Ettalong Memorial on Sunday 29th July 2018.
Up until the closing ends there was rarely a couple of shots difference between these two talented sides on the master scoreboard. Terrigal established a mini-break of 8 shots with just three ends remaining, but Ettalong finished strongly and fell just one shot short to tie the scores and force an extra end.
Whilst this was unfolding the Terrigal No 2 Grade Side on adjoining rinks had wrapped up the No 2 Pennant with a strong 76-36 victory over Umina Beach to complete the rare Grade 1 & 2 double-header. In the two other finals, Davistown RSL emerged the victors over Halekulani 56-47 to bag only their second No 3 Flag in 26 years.
Ettalong Memorial captured the No 4 Grade Pennant defeating The Entrance 66-44. It was Ettalong’s first ever No 4 Flag and completed the Club’s bragging rights of having now won Pennants in all seven grades.
Overall it was a great weekend of Central Coast Pennant Finals hosted by Ettalong Memorial BC with their top quality greens be-fitting of finals play albeit in tricky and testing wind conditions.
Bowls Central Coast congratulates the Ettalong Memorial Management team on the professional manner in which these finals were staged and acknowledges their ongoing sponsorship of the sport of lawn bowls.
Terrigal 54 d Ettalong Memorial  53l
State Final: - Engadine / Taren Point   
Peter McCarten, Tony Sydenham, Rod Rewko, James Cook
Sean Sydenham, Damien Gouw, Adam Pinkerton, Darren Morrison
Chayne Edwards, Wayne Hensley, Jeff Watson, Tony Shoebridge
Manager: - Di Whittaker
Terrigal   76    d    Umina Beach 36
State Final:-  Mt Lewis Aug 17th-19th 2018
Chris Pearce, Peter Lavery, Doug Kirwan, Sam Chapman
Paul Miles, Kevin Cooper, Chris Hancock, Dave Limbrick
Peter Andrews, Brian Williams, David Brien, Gary Murphy
Reserves: -Rod Palmer, Jason Gouw  Manager: - Roy Rogers
Davistown RSL 56   d Halekulani 47
State Final:- Club Dubbo 17th-19th Aug 2018
Stephen Michelsen, Luke Rash, John McKee, Laurie Barrett
Brett Davis, Chris Barling, Rob Dixon, Justin Shelley
Mark Lewin, Paul O’Grady, Greg Callaway, Dave Taylor
Reserves: - Clay Mair, Chris Jones Manager: - Jim Parr
Ettalong Memorial  66  d  The Entrance 44
State Final:- Ocean Shores 17th-19th Aug 2018
Dennis Holden, Paul Sumner, Philip Barclay, David Weige
Robert Hook, Mitch Douglas, Jeff Kelly, Alan Thornhill
James Percy, Peter Preece, Shane Robertson, Jeff Kime
Reserves:- Jason Rigby, Danny Bjedov Manager:- Sue Foster