Important Dates

Tuesday, 25 February 2020

February 25, 2020

Vale John OConnell

I have just been made aware of the passing of John O'Connell.  John is a Past President of The Greens The Entrance and did a lot of work for Bowls Central Coast during the years 2003 to 2009.

John managed the then Junior Academy from 2003 to 2009.  He was Assistant Secretary 2003-2005, Secretary  2006-2007 and Vice President 2008-2009.

I'm sorry that I do not have any more details of when he died, but I can advise his Funeral Service is at 3.00pm. on Rriday 28th Feb 2020 in the Rose Chapel,  Palmdale Lawn Cemetery & Memorial Park.

Regretfully, the only photo I could find quickly of John is when he and other notable persons of the Zone at the time were presenting the 2008 Under 18 Fours Winners.

In the photo are:  John Peek (then State Councillor), Talia Guise Bateau Bay,  Ben Bourne Terrigal,    Harley McDonald Ettalong,  Nick Tongue Toukley District with his arm around John and Kevin Dring (then Acting President).


Sunday, 16 February 2020

February 16, 2020

Breakers Win Presidents Reserve Triples

The Breakers Wamberal BC's powerful President's Triples team of Graeme Styman, Michael Maycock, and Peter Gibbs had a solid win in the final against Halekulani's Daryl Easton, and Steve Donnelly, and Fred Peters 29 to 21.  

Graeme Styman upstaging his team mates Michael Maycock, and Peter Gibbs celebrating their win

Runners Up Steve Donnelly, Fred Peters and Daryl Easton

February 16, 2020

Avoca Beach team win the 2020 BCC Senior Triples

The final of the Bowls Central Coast Senior Triples was a very close game between Avoca Beach's Chris Angove, Dave Peckham, and Kevin Bowcock and Ettalong's Greg Pigram, Alan Lewin, and Col Passfield.  It was on the second last end with the Avoca Side 3 in front 24 to 21 that Kevin converted a 2 down situation to 4 up that the result was sealed.  Instead of being one shot up, the Avoca Beach team went into the last end 6 shots up.  The Avoca Side eventually winning 27 to 22.

  Avoca Beach's winning team of Kevin Bowcock, Dave Peckham and Chris Angrove 

Runner up team from Ettalong of Greg Pigram, Alan Lewin and Col Passfield.

February 16, 2020

Terrigal Wins the Open Triples for 2nd Year

The very powerful Terrigal triples combination of Jeff Watson, Rod Rewko and Darren Morrison have won the Bowls Central Coast Open Triples for the second year in a row.  After a hard fought semi final against another Terrigal team of Wayne Hensley, Adam Pinkerton and Chayne Edwards, the equally experienced Halekulani side of Mitch McDonnell, Pat Reynolds and Shane Gibbin could not replicate their semi-final brilliance in the final which Jeff Rod and Darren won convincingly 27-13.
Celebrating their success for the 2nd tine are Darren Morrison, Rod Rewko and jeff Watson.

The runners up Halekulani's Pat Reynolds, Shane Gibbon and Mitch McDonnell

Friday, 14 February 2020

February 14, 2020

Side to Defend the Metropolitan Shield Selected

Congratulations to the Under 18 players selected to defend the Metropolitan Shield at St Mary's on 1st March.  Competing Zones for the Shield are Zones 5, 10, 12, 13, 15 and 16.  Bowls Central Coast Under 18's competed in the event last year for the first time and won it.  This year competing sides have been reduced to 9 with a pairs, triples and fours rinks rather than the 3 rinks of fours with 12 players that was the case last year.   It is sad that this has meant that some players who were involved in winning the title last year could not be included in this years team.  Still, it is a healthy situation for BCC to have to overlook such skilled under 18 players.

Good luck to the selected side - Go Central Coast.

Thursday, 13 February 2020

February 13, 2020

Seniors Game Played Despite the Bad Weather

The seniors representative side was able to complete their trial against Zones 2 (Newcastle) and Zone 6 (Hunter) on Monday 10th February despite the shocking weather on the weekend.   In anticipation of rain the location of the game was moved from Charlestown to the two new covered greens at Belmont.   The facilities at Belmont were most impressive - see photo below.

In the morning the BCC side played the Newcastle (Zone 2) B Side for a win on points with the rink wins shared 2 all.    After lunch it was a similar story against the Newcastle (Zone 2) A Side with the rinks shared 2 all but the points being in favour of the Newcastle side. 

It was a most satisfactory couple of warm up game for the Seniors who will be playing the Senior Inter-Zone Sides Championships in a months time in Sydney at Olds Park and Grandviews.  The selected sides for the trial game at Belmont was:

Sunday, 26 January 2020

January 26, 2020

Lets Play Bowls kicks off on the Central Coast

The highly successful Let's Play Bowls is an after school programme that gets school children on to the bowling green.  It has kicked off on the Central Coast with the Coordinator of Let's Play Bowls, Warren Boyd conducting an information session at Ourimbah RSL on Friday 24th January 2020.  The session was well attended with eleven (11) Central Coast Bowling Clubs indicating their willingness to be involved.  The information session concluded with an on green demonstration of coaching strategies that are useful when coaching children.

Let's Play Bowls is like a franchise where we use a proven system agreeing to standardise to the same format, same rules and same time frame because we know that it works.  The Let's Play Bowls committee liaises with the local School Region  and sends material to all 66 Central Coast Government, Non-Government & Catholic Primary Schools.  It then provides Clubs with templates of material they can use to contact nearby schools. The culmination of the years Let's Play Bowls programme is a competition with 

 Any Year combination … Any Gender combo.
Teams of 3 students + one reserve (if required)
Game format to be decided depending on numbers. 
Best four (4 or 8) teams enter the final series in Term 4.
$30.00 per team entry payable 1st game at the ‘play-offs’ to the district host club
Same Format / Rules / Conditions of Play - Entries only via website 
ENTRIES close Friday 3rd July 2020 – (last day Term 2)
Central Coast Clubs who did not attend the information session are still able to be involved with Let's Play Bowls.  Simply contact BCC Secretary Doug Rose on 43 444 600 or Warren Boyd on  0403 194 683.