Important Dates

Monday 29 January 2018

Terrigal Captures First Zone Championship Title for 2018

Terrigals Wayne Hensley, Peter McCarten and Jeff Watson skipped by Tony Shoebridge captured the first Zone Championship title for 2018 when they defeated Umina’s Glen Simington, Peter O’Sullivan and Lindsay Hicks skipped by Shane Starkey in the final of the “Open Fours “played at The Entrance BC. The first half of the game proved to be a tight tussle with Terrigal leading by just one shot (12-11) after ten (10) ends but they then strung together three telling ends to lead 19-11 after 13 ends.
 Terrigal’s experience was to the forefront with skipper Tony Shoebridge chiming in with some well directed conversion shots and stretching out the margin to 26-14 for a convincing win.
The President’s Fours for those Grade 5 Pennant players and below was a tightly contested affair between teams from Mingara and Wyong.
The Mingara team of Barry Pike, Keith Cumberland (sub for Tom Townsend) and Mark Rayner skipped by Bruce Smith looked to have the title well within their reach when leading  16-12 after 17 ends but they dropped the last four ends to go down 16-19 to a tenacious  Wyong team of Bruce Mauger, Bob Burns and Ray Wheatley (sub for Alan Turnball) skipped by Alan Morris.                    
“Open Fours” Champions:- Wayne Hensley, Jeff Watson, Peter McCarten, Tony Shoebridge 
“Open Fours” Runners Up:- Shane Starkey,Lindsay Hicks, Peter O’Sullivan, Glen Simington
“Presidents Fours” Winners:- Bruce Mauger, Bob Burns, Ray Wheatley (sub for Alan Turnball), Alan Morris.
“President Fours” Runners-up:- Barry Pike, Keith Cumberland (sub for Tom Townsend), Mark Rayner,  Bruce Smith