Important Dates

Monday 31 July 2017

Open Rep Side’s big win over Zone 9

On the 30th July, the Open Rep Side travelled to Harbord to compete against Zone 9 their conquerors in the final of the 2015 Inter Zone Sides Championship. It was a lovely sunny day but the green was very slick (about 18 seconds) and the wind was inconsistent making play very difficult.
In the absence of Manager Dick Thornton, David Cameron acted as Chairman of Selectors, Side Manager and Gear Steward. Tony “Pop” Shoebridge who had taken up the use of a bowls lifter as a concession to becoming a senior bowler, found the lifter an excellent aid to indicate to his team where he wanted them to bowl.
It was very pleasing to hear Bowls NSW Deputy President Denis Taylor, a stalwart of Zone 9 saying “even without Aron, they are still a very strong side”.
The BCC Side got away to a good start and went on to record a good win 92-71 winning two rinks and drawing the other two. The individual results were:
Lead - Darren Wheatley (Halekulani), 2nd - Damien Gouw (Terrigal), 3rd - Zac Robertson (Ettalong), Skip - Paul Williams (Halekulani) won 29-22 in a close game until the last few ends.
Lead – Shane Starkey (Umina Beach), 2nd – Shane Gibbin (Halekulani), 3rd – Pat Reynolds (Halekulani), Skip - Darren Morrison (Terrigal) drew 19-19.
Lead - Chayne Edwards (Terrigal), 2nd - Rewko (Terrigal), 3rd – Lee Trethowan (Ettalong), Skip – James Cook (Terrigal) won 23-9 in the biggest win of the day.
Lead – Terry Hughes (Avoca Beach), 2nd - Alan Joss (Gosford City), 3rd - Sam Chapman (Ettalong), Skip – Tony Shoebridge (Terrigal) drew 21-21.
Photo: The Best Performed Side Skip James Cook, Lead Chayne Edwards, 2nd Rod Rewko, 3rd Lee Trethowan