Pat Geary Trophy

The Pat Geary Trophy is an annual prestige round robin sides tournament (6 teams x 4), played between the neighbouring Zones of Newcastle (Zone 2), Hunter/Manning (Zone 6), Mid North Coast (Zone 14) and the Central Coast (Zone 15). The trophy was named after William Patrick Geary who devoted all his free time to Bowls Administration. He was a loyal and dedicated club man at Sawtell Bowling Club where he was Secretary and Bowls Secretary before moving over to West Coffs Bowling Club where he also performed these roles before coming club President. He was a club coach and umpire and was well known in the local district for his bowl’s programme on radio 2CHY. He took on all these jobs with great enthusiasm and was also an active administrator (Secretary) at District and Zone level, and also did a lot work at the RNSWBA. It was therefore fitting when the four Zones decided to conduct an annual tournament as a forerunner to the State Inter-Zone Sides Championship held in September every year, that it be named after such an active and dedicated Bowl’s Administrator as Pat Geary.


The winners since its inception have been:-
  1999   Zone 2
  2000   Zone 2
  2001   Zone 2
  2002   Zone 15
  2003    Zone 15 
  2004   Zone 14 
  2005    Zone 2 
  2006    Zone 2 
  2007    Zone 2 
  2008    Zone 14 
  2009    Zone 2 
  2010    Zone 2 
  2011   Zone 2
  2012   Zone 15
  2013   Zone 14
  2014   Zone 15
  2015   Zone 2
  2016   Zone 2
  2017   Zone 15


The 2017 Zone 15 Pat Geary Winning Team